Day: June 11, 2014

Laurie Lipton

image

I am always inspired by artists who push the envelope and possess great talent. What I most admire is true technique. A question always arises for me: Does the artist posses the skillset and where does he/she draw the line between showing it off or that they don’t need to prove technical skill but ideas?

For Laurie Lipton her skill comes through like a knife. It’s sharp and precise with detail that you can’t even believe is pencil. Her ability to capture death in this media pushes me as I contemplate death and how intangible the idea and reality are. Starting at age 4, she grew up in a world where Abstract Art was the norm and figurative painting or drawing was frowned upon. Not hindered in any way, she continued her obsessive line/hatch technique to show the depth of her subjects

.image

Her subject matter inspires me with her ghosts and fantasies of the dead. Her intricate fabrics and bones show a precious life to them, inanimate objects that move from the page. That ability to transfer between worlds of dead/alive and real/not real is poignant.

One of my favorite quotes from Laurie about her process is this one, “Black and white is the color of ancient photographs and old TV shows… it is the color of ghosts, longing, time passing, memory, and madness. Black and white ached. I realized that it was perfect for the imagery in my work.” What amazing passion and intuit for the images she expresses.

I cannot say more but that I am in love with her work. Find more here http://www.laurielipton.com/image